Alkaline is the top nominee in the 10th annual Youth View Awards (YVAs) with 10 nods in nine categories. It is scheduled to take place at the National Indoor Sports Arena in St Andrew on Saturday, February 18 and the organisers have promised that the 10th staging of the YVAs will be the best ever.

Incarcerated dancehall mogul Vybz Kartel was listed in seven categories from eight nominations and his one-time protégé, Popcaan tied for six with Spice.

Konshens picked up five nominations while Dancer-cum-deejay Ding Dong and newcomer Shenseea tied with four nods each.

Mavado and Ishwna earned three nominations each, while reggae artiste Nesbeth, social media sensation Quite Perry, Masicka, newcomer Xklusive, Khadine “Miss Kitty” Hylton, Yanique “Curvy Diva” Barrett, dance outfit Outshine Girls and Beenie Man all secured two nods each.

This year the organisers have included a few firsts, including the YVAs Icon Award, the YVAs Foundation, the launch of the YVAs interactive website, and the YVAs Breakout Youth Athlete of the Year Male and Female awards.

“The Youth View Awards were born out of our appreciation for our culture of music, dance and entertainment. We began our movement in 2008 and we haven’t looked back. We became Jamaica’s premiere award show that fully embraces and incorporates the views of our target demographic, which is the youth, to celebrate artistes and celebrities,” Karen Clarke, CEO of An Elegant Affair, said in a media release.

The winners of the 2017 Youth View Awards are determined by voting via the website at

Some of the categories are:
Favourite Sound System: Stone Love, Chromatic, Rebel Sound, Bass Odyssey, Coppershot, CD Fantasy;
Favourite Local Chart — Topping Song of the Year: Fever by Vybz Kartel, After All by Alkaline, Indicator by Spice, We Still a Win by Popcaan, Bruck Off Yuh Back by Konshens, and My Dream by Nesbeth;

Favourite Gospel Artiste of the Year: Kevin Downswell, Jermaine Edwards, DJ Nicholas, Marion Hall, Chozenn;

Favourite Dancehall Artiste: Vybz Kartel, Spice, Alkaline, Popcaan, Masicka;

Favourite Local Female Artiste of the Year: Spice, Ishawna, Tifa, Vanessa Bling, Shenseea;

Favourite Breakout Celebrity of the Year: Xklusive, Elaine Thompson, Shenseea, Jahmiel, Dy Dy;

Favourite Party Selector: Creep Chromatic, DJ Chrome, Foota Hype, DJ Boom Boom, DJ Antsman;

Favourite Legendary Artiste: Beres Hammond, Beenie Man, Shabba Ranks, Ninja Man, Freddie McGregor, Buju Banton;

Young Hot and Hype Female of the Year: Spice, Ishawna, Dy Dy, Shenseea, Nikki Chromazz;

Favourite Music Producer: DJ Frass, Not Nice, Linton “TJ” White (TJ Records).